Singapore Management University Appoints New Dean of Yong Pung How School of Law

Yong Pung How School of Law

New Dean of the SMU Yong Pung How School of Law

SMU Yong Pung How School of Law (YPHSL)The Singapore Management University (SMU) has announced that it has appointed Professor Lee Pey Woan ( 李佩婉 ) as the new Dean of the SMU Yong Pung How School of Law (YPHSL), following an extensive and rigorous global search that started in August 2021.

Professor Lee, who is currently SMU’s Vice-Provost (Faculty Matters), will succeed Professor Goh Yihan, S.C. as the University’s Law Dean from 1 July 2022 for a five-year term. Professor Goh, who has been appointed as a Judicial Commissioner of the Supreme Court of Singapore for a term of two years with effect from 1 July 2022, will be on leave of absence from the university to fulfill his new role.

SMU Provost Professor Timothy Clark said, “Professor Lee Pey Woan’s appointment is strongly supported by SMU Board of Trustees, SMU President, our law faculty, and other key stakeholders. Pey Woan has been a dedicated member of SMU since its establishment and has served in various management roles. She is highly respected by her colleagues for being a dedicated educator, inspiring leader, and an able administrator.”

“Pey Woan brings to the deanery a deep understanding and knowledge of the University and of Singapore’s legal landscape, as well as strong ties with the legal community. The Yong Pung How School of Law, which is celebrating its 15 years of establishment this year, is at a pivotal point in its development. I am confident that Pey Woan will build upon the strong foundation laid by her predecessors and take the law school to even greater heights in its next phase of growth.”

About Professor Lee Pey Woan

Professor Lee graduated with a Bachelor of Laws (First Class Honours) from King’s College, University of London and subsequently obtained the Bachelor of Civil Law from Oxford University. She is an Advocate and Solicitor of the Supreme Court of Singapore and was also called to the external Bar in England and Wales (Middle Temple). Prior to joining SMU in 2000, she was the Legal Manager of Keppel Corporation Limited.

About SMU Yong Pung How School of Law

SMU Yong Pung How School of Law traces its origins to 2000. Then, its predecessor, the Law Department within the Lee Kong Chian School of Business, was created and headed by Professor Andrew Phang (presently Judge of Appeal). In 2007, with Professor Michael Furmston at the helm, the department became a full-fledged law school and welcomed its first batch of students to its LLB and JD programmes. Professor Yeo Tiong Min, Singapore’s first Honorary Senior Counsel, took over as dean in 2012. The current dean is Professor Goh Yihan, who is the youngest dean to have been appointed at SMU.

SMU Yong Pung How School of Law has since expanded its academic offerings to include, among others, JD and LLM degrees as well as a suite of seminars for legal practitioners to obtain their CPD points under its SMU Law Academy. It houses leading research centres in the form of the Centre for Commercial Law in Asia (CCLA), the Singapore International Dispute Resolution Academy (SIDRA) , the Centre for AI and Data Governance (CAIDG) and the Centre for Computational Law. In 2017, it acquired its own premises along Armenian Street and now boasts various state-of-the-art facilities such as the Kwa Geok Choo Law Library and the David Marshall Moot Court.

Source: Singapore Management University