EDRM Publishes v1.0 of the Primer for eDiscovery in the Asia Pacific Region

Primer for eDiscovery

Primer for eDiscovery in the Asia Pacific Region Released By The Electronic Discovery Reference Model

Setting the global standards for e-discovery, the Electronic Discovery Reference Model (EDRM) is pleased to announce Version 1.0 of the Primer for eDiscovery in the Asia Pacific (APAC) region, November 2021.

EDRM develops and promotes thought leadership, frameworks, and best practices in e-discovery, with its engaged global community comprised of knowledgeable, multidisciplinary professionals. EDRM contributors continue to enhance e-discovery, privacy, security, and information governance frameworks, processes, and standards.

“This primer provides concise summaries of the judicial systems in each of the covered countries, together with more detail on discovery rules, privilege law, privacy issues, and cross-border discovery considerations,” said David R. Cohen, partner at Reed Smith and chair of the EDRM Project Trustees. “If you are involved in disputes in the covered Asian countries–or litigation in the U.S. that may implicate discovery of information from Asia– this is the first place I would recommend looking to start learning what you need to know.”

Susan Bennett, Project Trustee and Principal Drafter, led a global team to create a primer on eDiscovery in the APAC region. Originally chartered by The Sedona Conference®, EDRM is honored to publish this primer at the request of the project team and Sedona. EDRM plans to webify the content and provide pages for each country, much like the interactive state rules for the next version of the primer. Updates are very welcome for this Version 1.0, and we offer the document in its entirety for Public Comment through March 15, 2022.

Countries Referenced In The Primer on eDiscovery

The following countries were researched and written by these drafters: Australia, Maureen Duffy; China, Jared T. Nelson and Tom S. Groom; India, Sandeep Jadav; Japan, Sebastian Ko, and Daryl Osuch; Hong Kong, Sebastian Ko; Korea, David Kang; Malaysia, Gita Radhakrishna; New Zealand, Maureen Duffy, and Andrew King; and Singapore, Gita Radhakrishna.

Source: News Release